tina alt image

CSR in companies

CSR, or corporate social responsibility, is a key tool in the quest for performance and commitment of a company. It integrates social and environmental factors into the daily concerns of a company's life, which it reflects through its image and which it transmits to its employees.

CSR can therefore be defined simply as the contribution of companies to sustainable development issues. By definition, a company that practices CSR will strive to have a positive impact and message while being economically viable. The project must therefore make sense and meet certain criteria.

Introduced in France in the 1960s, the concept of CSR applies to the internal world of the company as well as outside its walls. Indeed, the internal objective remains the well-being of employees, for whom the relationship of trust and the possibility of dialogue are very important. Happy employees are a pleasant working environment and a performance factor.

Moreover, through the image it transmits to the outside world, the company must let people perceive that it is transparent, that it takes into consideration its collaborators or customers but also, especially nowadays, that it is committed to the respect of the environment.

tina alt image

The numbers

Today, in terms of figures, CSR is significant. Indeed, recent studies or the implementation of the national perception barometer of the Mouvement des entreprises de France (MEDEF) prove the interest of a CSR strategy.

For employees:

→ 83% of employees from companies with a CSR function or department consider that their company has a positive impact on society

VS

→ compared to 59% of employees working in companies that do not have one.

→ Getting involved in the environmental cause is a winning bet in terms of employer brand since 78% of employees would choose (with equivalent offers) to go to work for an organization truly committed to the ecological transition.

→ 88% of employees believe that the ecological transition is an important issue in their company, and 36% think it is a priority

→ 83% of employees say they would enjoy working for their company if it deploys a CSR strategy

VS

→ compared to only 64% in companies that do not have one.

→ According to a study by France Stratégie, integrating ethics into one's activity increases performance by 13% on average.

For employees or clients:

→ 56% of French people think that companies should communicate their commitment right to the point of sale

→ 65% of French people choose to buy (or boycott) a brand based on its stance

Implementing a CSR policy rhymes for many with the word expenses. Indeed, the first thing to consider when launching a CSR policy is to think about a budget dedicated to CSR actions. Without any budget, the CSR action plan cannot be able to implement any CSR action. However, this does not necessarily represent a large sum of money, it is possible to start its progress with inexpensive actions. Thus, a budget, even a small one, can be sufficient to initiate a CSR approach. The essential costs are represented by the creation of a dedicated position (or by the hiring of a consulting firm to deal with certain issues).

tina alt image

Les aides

Today, in France, which is the country where committed companies are among the most successful in the world, large companies that can afford to allocate a large budget to their CSR approach stand out and shine. A company that lacks resources but wishes to initiate a CSR approach can then resort to various interesting aids: according to https://lostintransition.fr/rse-subventions-2021/ (N.B.: some local aid is also available, the aid listed here is at the national level).

  • Aid for investments in decarbonization of industrial production tools](https://les-aides.fr/aide/ap9kC3dGxfTUBGdFT0zR4vJw_2Ixw3vUL0rHCCzX/asp/aide-aux-investissements-de-decarbonation-des-outils-de-production-industrielle.html) (State subsidy, open until December 31, 2022)
  • Aid for investments to decarbonize industrial activity (investment subsidy from Ademe)
  • Tax credit for the energy renovation of VSEs and SMEs](https://les-aides.fr/aide/ap5qAHpGxfTUBGdFT0zR4vJw_2Ixw3vUL0rHCCzX/ddfip/credit-d-impot-pour-la-renovation-energetique-des-locaux-des-tpe-et-pme.html) (amount of 30% of eligible expenses, up to €25,000 per company)
  • Eco-Energy Loan (PEE) via Bpifrance, a device that can go up to €500,000, within the limit of the company's equity or quasi-equity capital.
  • Ademe and the Ministry of Ecological Transition have launched the "Tremplin pour la transition écologique des PME" scheme for small and medium-sized enterprises. The spectrum is deliberately broad: the scheme aims to finance various actions through a grant, whether investments or studies consistent with the ecological transition (from €5000 to €200,000).
tina alt image

The tools

In order to meet its CSR objectives, a company has many tools at its disposal, which are currently being developed, in particular to quantify their performance and their actions in their sustainable development approach. Among these tools, we find

  • LCA (Life Cycle Assessment). LCA is used to quantify greenhouse gas emissions and environmental impacts resulting from the company's activities.
  • The carbon footprint
  • The CSR report

Other tools are also progressing to better take into account the expectations of all stakeholders involved in a project, but also to better communicate in a more responsible manner. The extra-financial performance declaration (EPR) is a document that allows companies to communicate on their actions regarding the social, environmental and societal issues of their activities.

Finally, an important step in the communication of companies is to obtain a CSR label. Indeed, this highlights and affirms the veracity of the organizations' commitment while highlighting the actions implemented.

In this way, a CSR label is an entity that guarantees the commitment of an organization or other in its CSR approach.

Among the most famous CSR labels :

  • the LUCIE 26000 label
  • the Engagé RSE label from Afnor
  • the Fair For life label from Ecocert

tina alt image

La RSE dans les entreprises

La RSE, ou la responsabilité sociétale des entreprises est, de nos jours, un outil clé dans la quête de performance et d’engagement d’une entreprise. Elle intègre ainsi au sein des préoccupations quotidiennes de la vie d’entreprise les facteurs sociaux et environnementaux, qu’elle fait refléter à travers son image et qu’elle transmet à ses collaborateurs.

La RSE peut alors se définir simplement comme la contribution des entreprises aux enjeux du développement durable. Par définition, une entreprise qui pratique la RSE va donc s’atteler à avoir un impact et un message positifs tout en étant économiquement viable. Le projet doit donc avoir du sens et répondre à certains critères.

Introduit en France dans les années 1960, le concept de RSE s’applique autant au monde interne de l’entreprise qu’à l’extérieur de ses murs. En effet, l’objectif interne demeure dans le bien-être des salariés, pour qui la relation de confiance et la possibilité de dialogue sont très importantes. Des employés heureux, c’est un environnement de travail agréable et un facteur de performance.

De plus, à travers l’image qu’elle transmet aux identités extérieures, l’entreprise doit laisser percevoir qu’elle est transparente, qu’elle prend en considération ses collaborateurs ou clients mais aussi, surtout de nos jours, qu’elle est engagée dans le respect de l’environnement.

tina alt image

Les chiffres

Aujourd’hui, en termes de chiffres, la RSE est significative. En effet, de récentes études ou encore la mise en place du Baromètre national de perception du Mouvement des entreprises de France (MEDEF) prouve l’intérêt d’une stratégie RSE.

Pour les salariés :

→ 83 % des salariés issus d’entreprises dotées d’une fonction ou d’un service RSE considèrent que leur entreprise a un impact positif sur la société

VS

→ contre 59 % des salariés travaillant dans des entreprises qui n’en ont pas.

→ S’impliquer dans la cause environnementale est un pari gagnant en termes de marque employeur puisque 78% des salariés choisiraient (à offres équivalentes) d’aller travailler pour une organisation véritablement engagée en faveur de la transition écologique.

→ 88% des salariés estiment que la transition écologique est un sujet important dans leur entreprise, et 36% pensent qu’il est prioritaire

→ 83 % des salariés indiquent avoir plaisir à travailler dans leur entreprise si celle-ci déploie une stratégie RSE

VS

→ contre seulement 64 % dans les entreprises qui n’en sont pas dotées.

→ Selon une étude de France Stratégie, intégrer l'éthique dans son activité augmente la performance de 13% en moyenne.

Pour les collaborateurs ou clients :

→ 56 % des Français pensent que les entreprises devraient communiquer sur leur engagement jusque dans leur point de vente

→ 65 % des Français choisissent d'acheter (ou de boycotter) une marque en fonction de ses prises de position

Mettre en place une politique RSE rime pour beaucoup avec le mot dépenses. Effectivement, la première chose à étudier quand on se lance se trouve dans la réflexion d’un budget dédié aux actions RSE. Sans aucun budget, le plan d’action RSE élaboré ne peut pas être en capacité de mettre en place la moindre action RSE. Cependant, celui-ci ne représente pas obligatoirement une grosse somme, il est possible d’entamer son cheminement par des actions peu dispendieuses. Ainsi un budget, même petit, peut suffire à initier une démarche RSE. Les coûts indispensables sont eux représentés par la création d’un poste dédié (ou par l’embauche d’un cabinet de conseil pour se pencher sur certaines thématiques).

tina alt image

Les aides

Aujourd’hui, en France, qui est le pays où les entreprises engagées sont parmi les plus performantes au monde, les grosses entreprises qui peuvent se permettre d’allouer un gros budget à leur démarche RSE se distinguent et brillent. Une entreprise qui manque de ressources mais désirant entamer une démarche RSE peut alors avoir recours à différentes aides intéressantes : selon https://lostintransition.fr/rse-subventions-2021/ (N.B : certaines aides locales sont également disponibles, les aides répertoriées ici sont au niveau national).

tina alt image

Les outils

Afin de remplir ses objectifs RSE, une entreprise a à sa disposition de nombreux outils, qui continuent actuellement à se développer, notamment pour quantifier leurs performances et leurs actions dans leur démarche en matière de développement durable. Parmi ces outils, on trouve

  • l’ACV (Analyse de Cycle de Vie). L’ACV sert en effet à quantifier les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et les impacts sur l’environnement résultant des activités de l’entreprise.
  • Le bilan carbone
  • Le rapport RSE

D’autres outils progressent aussi pour mieux prendre en compte les attentes de tous les acteurs concernés par un projet mais aussi pour mieux communiquer, de manière plus responsable. La déclaration de performance extra-financière (DPEF) est un document permettant aux entreprises de communiquer sur leurs mesures à propos des questions sociales, environnementales et sociétales de leurs activités.

Pour finir, une étape importante au sein de la communication des entreprises est représentée par l’obtention d’un label RSE. En effet, cela met en lumière et affirme la véracité de l’engagement des organisations tout en mettant en valeur les actions mises en place.

De cette façon, un label RSE est une entité qui garantit l’engagement d’une organisation ou autre dans sa démarche RSE.

Parmi les labels RSE les plus célèbres :

  • le label LUCIE 26000
  • le label Engagé RSE de l’Afnor
  • le label Fair For life d’Ecocert