tina alt image

Interview with Notox, the ecological and efficient surfboards

This week, Axel Bouzonnie from Notox has answered the Club Tina questions! Notox is specialized in the development and the realization of surfboards called of new generation; indeed, those combine high performance and high environmental quality.

That's why we wanted to know more about Notox, its development and its values by interviewing Axel!

tina alt image

The Questions

**- Could you start by introducing Notox? What is its history?

The story of NOTOX started in 2006 when Pierre and Benoit, co-founders, visited a professional surfboard manufacturing workshop. They were dismayed by the discrepancy between the image conveyed by the surf industry, which claims to be close to nature, and the significant environmental impact generated by the production of the boards. They therefore decided to reinvent the manufacturing of surfboards so that it would be less polluting and respectful of the health of those who make them, without compromising their performance.

**- What materials are used in your boards?

We use natural, recycled or renewable materials.

For the core we use polystyrene, part of which is recycled. For the composite, we replace fiberglass, which is very energy consuming during its manufacture, with flax fiber, cork, or upcycled carbon fiber. We have also replaced the traditional epoxy or polyester resin by a resin composed of 56% of vegetable matter.

**- What concrete actions have you taken to limit your impact on the environment?

In addition to the above-mentioned materials integrated in the manufacturing process, we have implemented other actions to limit our impact as much as possible:

  • WASTE REDUCTION

75% of the waste from our production is recycled, which leaves only 1kg of untreated waste per board produced.

  • MADE IN FRANCE and SHORT CIRCUIT

Our boards are made in France in our workshop in Anglet, Basque Country. We source our boards within a 900 km radius, in order to reduce CO2 emissions generated by transportation while contributing to the local economy.

  • TECHNOLOGICAL PROCESS

We use technological processes such as vacuum bagging to reduce the amount of resin used while obtaining a more homogeneous result.

Whenever we have the opportunity, we measure the environmental impact of our products using an LCA (Life Cycle Assessment). An environmental impact score is calculated for each stage of the cycle, from raw material extraction to the end of the board's life, including transportation, energy, waste during production and delivery, and board use and repairs.

We invite you to learn more on our website by following this link :) : https://notoxsurf.com/pages/a-propos

**- We saw your rescue board project. Could you explain us what it consisted of?

Rescues allow to intervene quickly in case of swimmer in distress, to be on the water, to increase the surveillance capacity by being closer to the swimmers... but it is a very solicited tool. We had heard that traditional rescues are damaged very quickly and that their life span is limited to a few seasons.

With the help of Jean-Philippe Savy (head of the rescue station of the Lette Blanche in Vielle-Saint-Girons), we imagined and developed a more durable, more ecological rescue, better adapted to the needs of professionals.

Concretely, we obtain a paddle rescue :

  • lighter: 8kg equipped for a model of 9'0 x 23.25 x 5.12 with a volume of 161 liters.
  • more manageable: thanks to the numerous improvements made following the ideas of the rescuers in the field.
  • more durable over time: 1 - these boards cannot take water, 2 - they have an integral grip (thanks to the cork) and 3 - can be repaired and refurbished almost indefinitely (with an estimated nominal life span of 7 years)
  • more ecological and local: as for our construction KORKO, we use a maximum of materials from recycling and renewable resources (recycled extruded polystyrene and 56% bio-sourced epoxy resin), but also cork grown and processed in the Landes region, 40 kms from our workshop! Since then, many communities, town halls or associations are interested in our rescue to be able to equip themselves with it!

**- What motivated your collaboration with Club Tina?

We were looking for a partner with whom we could share the same values, in particular a strong sensitivity to eco-responsibility and benevolence in human relations.

Club Tina also differentiates itself by proposing a diversified offer with different supply channels, always in phase with the values of eco-responsibility (second hand, unsold goods etc...)

Finally, what a reactive team! A real pleasure :)

**- What can we wish you for the future ?

Only happiness 😁 (for us, our partners and our community! )

- How would you describe Notox today in one sentence? And in one word?

A pioneering, innovative and human company that wants to revolutionize the practice of ocean and nature lovers for a more sustainable world :)

tina alt image

Interview de Notox, les planches de surf écologiques et performantes

Cette semaine, c'est Axel Bouzonnie de Notox qui s'est prêté au jeu des questions Club Tina ! Notox est notamment spécialisé dans le développement et la réalisation de planches de surf dites de nouvelle génération ; en effet, celles-ci combinent haute performance et haute qualité environnementale.

C'est pourquoi on voulait en savoir un peu plus sur Notox, son élaboration et ses valeurs en interrogeant Axel !

tina alt image

Les questions

- Pourriez-vous commencer par présenter Notox ? Quelle est son histoire ?

L'histoire de NOTOX a commencé en 2006 lorsque Pierre et Benoit, co-fondateurs, ont visité un atelier professionnel de fabrication de planches de surf. Ils furent consternés par le décalage entre l'image véhiculée par l'industrie du surf, qui se veut proche de la nature, et l'impact environnemental important généré par la production des planches. Ils ont donc décidé de réinventer la fabrication des planches de surf pour qu'elle soit moins polluante et respectueuse de la santé de ceux qui les fabriquent, sans compromettre leur performance.

- Quels sont les matériaux qui composent vos planches ?

Nous utilisons des matériaux naturels, issus du recyclage ou de ressources renouvelables.

Pour le noyau nous utilisons du polystyrène dont une partie est issue du recyclage. Pour le composite, on remplace notamment la fibre de verre, très énergivore lors de sa fabrication, par de la fibre de lin, du liège, ou de la fibre de carbone upcyclé. On a également remplacé la résine epoxy ou polyester traditionnelle par une résine composée à 56% de matières végétales.

- Quelles sont concrètement les actions que vous avez mises en place pour limiter votre impact sur l'environnement ?

En plus des matériaux précédemment mentionnés intégrés dans la fabrication, nous avons mis en place d'autres actions pour limiter notre impact au maximum :

  • REDUCTION DES DECHETS

75% des déchets issus de notre production sont recyclés, ce qui ne laisse que 1kg de déchets non retraités par planche produite.

  • MADE IN FRANCE et CIRCUIT COURT

Nos planches sont fabriquées en France dans notre atelier à Anglet, au Pays Basque. Nous nous approvisionnons dans un rayon de 900 km, afin de réduire les émissions de CO2 générées par le transport tout en contribuant à l'économie locale.

  • PROCEDE TECHNOLOGIQUE

Nous utilisons des procédés technologiques comme la mise sous vide qui permettent de réduire la quantité de résine utilisée tout en obtenant un résultat plus homogène.

Dès que nous en avons l'occasion, nous mesurons l'impact environnemental de nos produits à l'aide d'une ACV (Analyse de Cycle de Vie). Un score d'impact environnemental est calculé pour chaque étape du cycle, de l'extraction des matières premières à la fin de vie de la planche, en passant par le transport, l'énergie, les déchets pendant la production et la livraison, ainsi que l'utilisation et les réparations de la planche.

On vous invite à en savoir plus sur notre site en suivant ce lien :) : https://notoxsurf.com/pages/a-propos

- On a vu passer votre projet de planche de rescue. Pourriez-vous nous expliquer en quoi ça consistait ?

Les rescues permettent d’intervenir vite en cas de nageur en détresse, de se poster sur l’eau, d’augmenter la capacité de surveillance en étant au plus proche des nageurs… mais c’est un outil très sollicité. On avait eu des retours comme quoi les rescues traditionnels s'abiment très rapidement et dont la durée de vie se limite seulement à quelques saisons.

Avec l'aide de Jean-Philippe Savy (chef du poste de secours de la Lette Blanche à Vielle-Saint-Girons), on a imaginé et développé un rescue plus durable, plus écologique et davantage adapté aux besoins des professionnels.

Concrètement, on obtient un paddle rescue :

  • plus léger: 8kg équipé pour un modèle de 9'0 x 23.25 x 5.12 avec un volume de 161 litres.
  • plus maniable : grâce aux nombreuses améliorations apportées suite aux idées des sauveteurs sur le terrain.
  • plus durable dans le temps : 1 - ces planches ne peuvent pas prendre l'eau, 2 - elles disposent d'un grip intégral (grâce au liège) et 3 - peuvent être réparées et remises en état quasi à l'infini (avec une durée de vie nominale estimée à 7 ans)
  • plus écologique et plus locale : comme pour notre construction KORKO, nous utilisons au maximum des matériaux issus du recyclage et de ressources renouvelables (polystyrène extrudé recyclé et résine époxy bio-sourcée à 56%), mais aussi du liège cultivé et transformé dans les Landes à 40 kms de notre atelier ! Depuis, pas mal de collectivités, de mairies ou d'associations s'intéressent à notre rescue pour pouvoir s'en équiper !

- Qu'est-ce qui a motivé votre collaboration avec Club Tina ?

On recherchait un partenaire avec qui on pouvait partager les même valeurs, notamment une forte sensibilité à l'éco-responsabilité et de la bienveillance dans les relations humaines.

Club Tina se différencie aussi en proposant une offre assez diversifiée avec des canaux d'approvisionnements différents, toujours en phase avec les valeurs d'éco-responsabilité (seconde main, invendus etc...)

Enfin, quelle équipe réactive ! Un vrai bonheur :)

- Que peut-on vous souhaiter pour la suite ?

Que du bonheur 😁 (pour nous, nos partenaires et notre communauté ! )

- Comment décririez-vous Notox aujourd'hui en une phrase ? Et en un mot ?

Une entreprise pionnière, innovante et humaine qui veut révolutionner la pratique des amoureux de l'océan et de la nature pour un monde plus durable :)