tina alt image

Interview with Marie from Andy Family

The first marketplace dedicated to used toys.

This week, the CEO of [Andy Family] (https://andy.family/) answered our questions about her project of a marketplace dedicated to second-hand toys. At Club Tina, we love second hand, whether in the textile field or in other sectors.

That's why we wanted to know more about Andy Family and how it works by interviewing Marie!

**- Hello Marie, can you start by introducing yourself ?

Hello team!!! Thank you for welcoming me on your blog 😁 Nice to meet you, Marie, 29 years old (and all my teeth). I created Andy Family, a website for buying and selling used toys. I'm also a fan of good food with friends and family, walking around Paris, glittering and board game nights :)

**- What is the history of Andy Family ? How did you get the idea?

I am the oldest of 7 children. When I was little, my grandmother organized the "toy fair" in my town. So my toys have always been mostly second-hand, and then they went to my cousins, brothers and sisters... It always worked out very well, and I even thought that everybody did it that way. (A little) later, I worked for a large toy distributor. There I discovered the ecological and financial impact of toys. So I said to myself that there was something to do!

**- How does [Andy Family] work (https://andy.family/)?

We want to keep the trade-offs associated with second hand to a minimum. For buyers, the experience is as close as possible to a new purchase website: the product sheets are detailed, the interface is well designed... For sellers, two options to help families give a second life to their toys:

  • sell on our marketplace, directly. We sell more expensive, but we have to store, take pictures.
  • use our buy-back service: we take all the toys that are not used anymore, we put them in a box, and Andy buys them back directly (if it's in our criteria). Practical for families who are short of time.

**- How many of you work at [Andy Family] (https://andy.family/)?

I have two apprentices, and I'm lucky enough to have a company that speaks to a lot of people, so a few little hands come in sometimes to help generously. Thanks to you, if you recognize yourself :)

- What has been your favorite moment since the launch?

Honestly, every day is better than the last. So every day is my favorite day! I feel like the projects that are being put in place are the right ones, and I can see that it's really giving back to the families, and that's so cool!

**- What is the most fun part of the used toy business?

The IPCC has said that every ton counts in the fight against global warming. If we pull the string a little, every toy counts. So, dear families reading this, go second hand! If that doesn't convince you, you should know that when they leave the factory, the toys are still full of volatile organic compounds (I'll let you look them up on Google). In fact, even for your health, it's much better to buy second hand 🙃

- Do you practice second hand in other areas.

Of course I do! My apartment is furnished mostly second hand. I would say 60% of my clothes are, I need to get better at that. And when my apprentice had her birthday, I gave her a second hand sweater embroidered with our logo, by Club Tina of course.

**- Do you have any other causes that are important to you that you would like to share?

Great to have a female Prime Minister. It'll be even better when it's no longer a victory !!!! And if not, take the train instead of the plane, you'll see it's much better :))))

**- Finally, what are your objectives at Andy Family ? What can we wish you?

I have only one objective: that when a French family buys a toy, they first think of looking at Andy Family.

By the way, if you want to know more about second hand in general, we already wrote an article about it: Second hand and openings

You can also click here to see our Second hand offer which allows you to personalize textiles while giving them a second life!

tina alt image

Interview de Marie d'Andy Family

La première marketplace dédiée aux jouets d'occasion.

Cette semaine, c'est la CEO d'Andy Family qui s'est prêtée au jeu de répondre à nos questions sur son projet de marketplace dédiée aux jouets d'occasion. Chez Club Tina, on adore la seconde main, que ce soit dans le domaine textile ou dans d'autres secteurs.

C'est pourquoi on voulait en savoir un peu plus sur Andy Family et son fonctionnement en interrogeant Marie !

- Bonjour Marie, peux-tu commencer par te présenter ?

Hello la team !! Merci de m'accueillir sur votre blog 😁 Enchantée, Marie, 29 ans (et toutes mes dents). J'ai créé Andy Family, un site d'achat et vente de jouets d'occasion. Et sinon, je suis fan de bonnes bouffes avec les copains ou la famille, de me balader dans Paris, de paillettes et de soirées jeux de société :)

- Quelle est l’histoire d’Andy Family ? Comment en as-tu eu l’idée ?

Je suis l'aînée de 7 enfants. Quand j'étais petite, ma grand mère organisait la "bourse aux jouets" de ma ville. Mes jouets ont donc toujours été majoritairement d'occasion, et puis ensuite allaient à mes cousins, frères et sœurs... Ça a toujours très bien fonctionné, et je croyais même que tout le monde faisait comme ça. (Un peu) plus tard, j'ai travaillé chez un grand distributeur de jouets. J'y ai découvert l'impact écologique et financier des jouets. Je me suis donc dit qu'il y avait quelque chose à faire !

- Comment fonctionne Andy Family ?

On veut limiter au maximum les compromis liés à la seconde main. Pour les acheteurs, l'expérience se veut au plus proche d'un site d'achat neuf: les fiches produit sont détaillées, l'interface est travaillée ... Pour les vendeurs, deux options pour aider au maximum les familles à donner une seconde vie à leurs jouets:

  • vendre sur notre marketplace, en direct. On vend plus cher, mais il faut stocker, prendre les photos.
  • faire appel à notre service de rachat: on prend tous les jouets qui ne servent plus, on le met dans un carton, et Andy les rachète directement (si c'est dans nos critères). Pratique pour les familles qui manquent de temps.

- Combien êtes-vous à travailler chez Andy Family ?

J'ai deux apprentis, et j'ai la chance d'avoir une entreprise qui parle à beaucoup de monde, donc quelques petites mains viennent parfois m'aider généreusement. Merci à vous, si vous vous reconnaissez :)

- Quel a été ton moment préféré depuis le lancement ?

Franchement, chaque jour est meilleur que le précédent. Donc tous les jours sont mes jours préférés ! Je sens que les projets mis en place sont les bons, et je vois que ça rend vraiment service aux familles, et ça c'est trop trop chouette !

- Qu’est-ce qui est le plus plaisant dans le secteur des jouets d’occasion ?

Le GIEC a dit que chaque tonne compte dans la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique. Si on tire un peu la corde, chaque jouet compte. Donc, chères familles qui nous lisez, passez à la seconde main ! Si ça, ça ne vous convainc pas, sachez qu'en sortant de l'usine, les jouets sont encore pleins de composés organiques volatils (je vous laisse regarder sur Google). En fait, même pour la santé, c'est bien mieux d'acheter de seconde main 🙃

- Pratiques-tu la seconde main dans d’autres secteurs ?

Bien sur ! Mon appart est meublé majoritairement de seconde main. Je dirais que 60% de mes vêtements le sont, faut que je progresse là dessus. Et quand mon apprentie a fêté son anniversaire, je lui ai offert un pull de seconde main brodé avec notre logo, par Club Tina bien évidemment.

- As-tu d’autres causes qui te tiennent à cœur que tu aimerais partager ?

Super d'avoir une femme premier ministre. Ce sera encore mieux quand ce ne sera plus une victoire !!!! Et sinon, prenez le train plutôt que l'avion, vous verrez c'est beaucoup mieux :))))

- Pour finir, quels sont vos objectifs chez Andy Family ? Que peut-on vous souhaiter ?

J'ai un seul objectif: que quand une famille française achète un jouet, elle pense d'abord à regarder chez Andy Family.

D'ailleurs, si vous voulez en savoir + sur la seconde main en général, on a déjà écrit un article dessus : Seconde main et ouvertures

Vous pouvez aussi cliquer ici pour voir notre offre Seconde main qui vous permet de personnaliser des textiles tout en leur donnant une seconde vie !